Gary Moore: After The War


After the War is the seventh solo studio album by Irish guitarist Gary Moore, released in 1989.On “Led Clones”, Ozzy Osbourne – with whom Moore had worked before the singer united with Randy Rhoads – shares lead vocals. The song pokes fun at bands such as Kingdom Come, who were popular at the time and based on a Led Zeppelin-type sound and image. “That song was great fun,” Ozzy recalled, “and it was an honour to record with Gary.” The Sisters of Mercy frontman Andrew Eldritch provides backing vocals on the songs Backing vocals on “After the War”, “Speak for Yourself” and “Blood of Emeralds”. Moore again pays tribute to the memory of his long-time friend and colleague Phil Lynott with the song “Blood of Emeralds”. “After the War” would be Moore’s last foray into conventional hard rock, and his last rock album of any kind until 1997’s Dark Days in Paradise. Starting with his next album, Still Got the Blues, he would primarily switch to playing blues. Although Cozy Powell played drums on the album, he was replaced by Chris Slade for the tour, as he was set to tour with Black Sabbath, in support of their album, Headless Cross, which he also played drums on the album.

In stock (can be backordered)



2017 Release

Release Date: 1989
Label: Virgin
Length: 53:01
Producer: Peter Collins

01. “After the War”0
02. “Speak for Yourself”0
03. “Livin’ on Dreams”0
04. “Led Clones (feat. Ozzy Osbourne)”
05. “Running from the Storm”
06. “This Thing Called Love”
07. “Ready for Love”
08. “Blood of Emeralds”