Rated 4.00 out of 5 based on 1 customer rating
(1 customer review)

Alice Cooper: A Paranormal Evening At The Olympia Paris (Live)


2LP – Double Album – Red & White Vinyl

Primary Format: Vinyl
Label: earMUSIC/Sony
Music Genre: Rock/Hard Rock

Side A:
01. Brutal Planet
02. No More Mr. Nice Guy
03. Under My Wheels
04. Department Of Youth
05. Pain
06. Billion Dollar Babies

Side B:
01. The World Needs Guts
02. Woman Of Mass Distraction
03. Poison
04. Halo Of Flies

Side C:
01. Feed My Frankenstein
02. Cold Ethyl
03. Only Women Bleed
04. Paranoiac Personality

Side D:
01. Ballad Of Dwight Fry
02. Killer/I Love The Dead Themes
03. I’m Eighteen
04. School’s Out



2LP – Double Album – Red & White Vinyl

1 review for Alice Cooper: A Paranormal Evening At The Olympia Paris (Live)

  1. Rated 4 out of 5

    Rue Morgue Records

    By Will Hollands

    One of the last remaining rock ‘n’ roll icons and a pioneer of theatrical shock rock; Alice Cooper is the quintessential entertainer in every sense of the word.

    As an Alice tragic myself, this one was a hotly anticipated release. Having been lucky enough to tour Australia last year and get to witness this very set each and every night was not only a privilege, but also makes this an incredibly special album for me. Bringing back unbelievable memories from working alongside Mr. Cooper and his undeniably talented band, I can safely say this is my favourite live Alice album to date.

    Coined as having “the scariest rock show around” by Pop Matters, an Alice live show is more than just a concert; it’s a show; a rollercoaster; a whirlwind blend of death, comedy, heavy rock masterpieces and hauntingly touching moments which all translate and are demonstrated to perfection in this fantastic package.

    From the opening menacing notes of Brutal Planet’s heavy guitar riff, you’re immediately kicked in the guts in the absolute best way possible. It isn’t however, until those classic raspy vocals roar out of the speakers that you’re left in awe of how a man at age 70 can sound even cooler NOW than back in the day.

    Smashing through a setlist of all the classics you’d expect (Poison, No More Mr. Nice Guy, Only Women Bleed, School’s Out) the strength of the band shines throughout the show on every track. Adding to the excitement for diehards, rarities such as Pain and The World Needs Guts are both welcomed additions and definitely demands a whole new appreciation that isn’t necessarily evident on the studio recordings.

    Alice Cooper A Paranormal Evening At The Olympia Paris
    What really brings this album to a whole new level is the incendiary three- pronged gunslinger guitar lineup that packs a HUGE punch to coincide with quite possibly the best (and most underrated!) rhythm section in rock music. With each member getting a moment to shine at various points, a key highlight is Nita Strauss’ tasty shred-tastic solo at the end of Woman of Mass Distraction – a true drool moment for any guitar geek!

    Listening to this release really does achieve exactly what a live album should do. Providing the energy and excitement that often lacks in studio recordings, you’re immediately transported into a moment in time – as if you were actually at this very concert, and left to be engulfed in the mayhem that went down on this special paranormal evening in Paris.

    For me, my previous favourite all time live album was actually Alice Cooper’s 2005 Live in Montreux… until I heard this! I guess that says a lot about the man behind the black eyed makeup and the world-class quality of musicians he shares the stage with in order to continually strike gold time and time again. Anyone that has seen Alice live will attest to his stunning show and consolidates the point that whilst many of his contemporaries may have ‘lost their touch,’ you’re always guaranteed to be blown away when Alice comes to your town – or in this instance; when you give this record a spin.

    Although not being able to falter the performance or level of musicianship, the only small gripe I can muster is that only one track from 2017’s “Paranormal” album is featured in the set. With lead single from said album; Paranoiac Personality being the only inclusion, it demonstrates what a nightmare it must be for Alice and co. to rotate tracks from such an extensive and epic catalogue of phenomenal music.

    Overall, you’ll struggle to find a better performance on a live Alice Cooper album to date. Despite the possibility of some listener’s favourite tracks being left off (Go to Hell, Welcome to My Nightmare, Hey Stoopid) all being glaring omissions which have been featured heavily in Alice’s set in recent years, I personally find the slight mix up of tracks refreshing and adds to the beauty of what makes this release a gem.

    Although not being released on DVD format (which is a huge shame!), this really deserves to be enjoyed on vinyl to encapsulate the warmth and sonic depth to its fullest potential. One thing for sure is, this one won’t be leaving my turntable for a loooooonnnnggg time!

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like…