Rated 4.00 out of 5 based on 1 customer rating
(1 customer review)

Ace Frehley: Bronx Boy (Rockologists Deluxe Edition)


Exclusive ‘DELUXE EDITION’ Rockologists release includes:

  • Jacket Signed By Ace Frehley
  • Exclusive White Vinyl
  • Exclusive ‘Ace Frehley Collection’ OBI
  • Hype Sticker
  • An Additional Surprise Item
  • Each signed item is authenticated / certified by The Rockologists and are accompanied by a matching certificate w/ hologram.

‘DELUXE EDITION’ limited to 300 pieces.

In stock


1 review for Ace Frehley: Bronx Boy (Rockologists Deluxe Edition)

  1. Rated 4 out of 5

    Rue Morgue Records

    By Will Hollands

    He’s a guitar hero; a spaceman; a guitar-smoking, rocket-shooting hero from the planet Jendel, whose lead guitar wizardry defies generations and has solidified the original Kiss guitarist’s place in the ethos of rock ‘n’ roll history. Ace Frehley is back (and he told you so) with his new limited edition vinyl exclusive “Bronx Boy” EP!

    One of the last true remaining rock stars, Ace has always been quintessential listening for my ears. First discovering KISS by digging through my mum’s vinyl collection as a youngster, I quickly fell in love with anything and everything to do with the band.
    As a guitarist myself, Ace was always my favourite member; oozing the coolness and swagger that inspired thousands before me to pick up the iconic Les Paul guitar and learn some of the most simplistically authentic and remarkably identifiable licks of all time.

    With the most successful solo career out of all his former band mates, Ace should be commended for continually satisfying his listeners with new material and tours year in, year out. Since his long-awaited return to the studio in 2009 for Anomaly, the Bronx Boy himself has put out a steady string of releases including the brilliant Space Invader and Origins Vol. 1 Covers album.
    With 2018 seeing Ace return to Australia with former KISS band mate Gene Simmons and gearing up to release his new “Spaceman” album later in the year (featuring Simmons on two co-writes and bass guitar on said tracks), I thought it only fitting to review this gem of an EP to add to the pandemonium.

    Featuring the first new original song from Ace since 2014, along with three gems you may have missed from his most recent releases – this vinyl package is sooooo satisfying for the fans.

    Short, punchy and giving the listener a lyrical glimpse into his upbringing on the streets of New York City, “Bronx Boy” is classic Ace Frehley. From the first notes of the intro guitar solo which blazes over a killer opening riff, Ace commands the listener’s attention from the get go.

    Although often being criticised for his vocal abilities, I actually find it part of his charm and a major reason why I love the man. With a vocal styling that is distinct and easily recognisable, his lead pipes are something I’ve always loved and meld beautifully with his biographical lyrics on this one. I dare say his voice has held up much better than his ex “Starchild” band mates too!
    Although not trying to push any boundaries, Ace delivers a great performance all round on Bronx Boy, encompassing a downright ballsy solo, which simply gets better with every listen! If this is a glimpse into what we can expect from the new full-length record in October, fans should be salivating his next superb, not to miss album!

    “Reckless (remix)”, “White Room” & “Cold Gin” are all wonderful additions to this package. With the KISS classic also featuring a guest appearance from Mike McCready of Pearl Jam, this provides a standout listen for any guitar nut as the pair trade off smoking hot solos.

    Having although been released on prior Ace solo efforts, these tracks are the perfect accompaniment to Bronx Boy and fit its hard-hitting sensibilities beautifully. If driving, harmony laden guitar playing is something you drool over; these are essential listening’s and will have you slobbering worse than Sylvester the Cat. The exclusive remix of Reckless is also a welcomed bonus and simply provides something a little extra special on this EP that is a MUST have.

    Overall this record does exactly what it needs to do – provide collectors and die-hards alike with a classy package of Ace Frehley goodness, whilst also giving a solid glimpse into what their hero has been up to in his post-KISS solo career to date.

    If you want a recommendation, grab this stunner NOW before it sells out. With a limited numbered release worldwide, the price of these babies are sure to rocket ride upward in the coming years. Well done to Ace and his team on this one – simply wonderful!

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like…